Australian High Commission
Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Togo, Mali, Senegal, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Guinea

About us

About the Australian High Commission in Ghana

Head of Mission

Welcome to the website of the Australian High Commission in Accra, Ghana.

I was delighted to commence my role as High Commissioner in June 2016.  The High Commission in Ghana is also responsible for Australia’s relations with Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

The role of the High Commission is to advance Australia’s political, economic and other interests in all of these countries, and to work with partner governments on issues of common interest, including development, trade and investment, peace and security and the promotion of human rights.

My family and I are excited to be here in Accra and to learn about Ghana and the other countries of west Africa, and in doing so, to meet with as many people as possible during my time as High Commissioner and Ambassador.

I look forward to many enriching experiences working to advance bilateral relationships and meeting Australians and friends of Australia across the region.

I hope you find our website interesting and informative.


Andrew Barnes High Commissioner


Contact information

Address: 2, Second Rangoon Close (cnr Josef B. Tito Ave), Cantonments, Accra

Telephone: (+233 302) 216 400

Fax: (+223 302) 216 410


Opening hours

The High Commission is open from 8 am to 4.15 pm, Monday to Friday, except for public holidays.

Consular hours

The High Commission's consular section is open from 9.30am to 12.30pm, Monday to Friday, except for public holidays.

Public holidays

The High Commission's public holidays for 2017 are as follows:

Monday    2 January 2017      New Year's Day (in lieu)

Monday   6 March 2017      Independence Day

Friday      14 April 2017      Good Friday

Monday   17 April 2017      Easter Monday

Monday   1 May 2017      May Day

Thursday   25 May 2017      African Unity Day

Monday   12 June 2017      Queen's Birthday

Monday   26 June 2017      Eid al-Fitr

Monday    3 July 2017      Republic Day

Friday      1 September 2017   Eid al-Adha

Monday   2 October 2017   Labour Day

Friday      1 December 2017   Farmer's Day

Monday   25 December 2017   Christmas Day

Tuesday   26 December 2017   Boxing Day